Global Education and Training Awards

What We Do

The Global Education & Training Initiative of the Children’s Eye Foundation of AAPOS focuses on engaging international physicians from underserved areas of the world in training alongside AAPOS members in the US.  This important Foundation program allows ophthalmologists to benefit from a vastly expanded international collegial network and to develop skills that end preventable vision loss in children around the world. 


Each year, the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS) hosts an annual symposium where leading experts and researchers in the field share information about cutting-edge technology and the latest innovations in care. Colleagues from around the world convene to learn from one another and build relationships that further advance pediatric ophthalmology.  In an effort to increase opportunities for pediatric ophthalmologists outside of North America, Marilyn Miller, MD, made a generous gift in 2012 to underwrite the cost of annual meeting attendance for select international attendees.  Now named the Miller International Travel Award, this program continues to grant funds to at least one international doctor per year – facilitating their participation in the AAPOS annual symposium. 


2022 Miller international travel grant award recipient's

Dr. Laura AngelescuDr. Laura Angelescu

Opticline Deva | Romania

Dr. Quazi Sazzad IftekharDr. Quazi Sazzad Iftekhar

Ispahani Islamia Eye Institute & Hospital | Bangladesh

2021 (Virtual)

  • Muneeb Alam-Saudi Arabia
  • Maria Angelescu-Romania
  • Ghada Hassan Allam-Egypt
  • Sahithya Bhaskaran-India
  • Chavisa Bunyavee-Thailand
  • Varada Gokhale-India
  • Ibrahim Matende-Kenya
  • Amra Nadarevic Vodencarevic-Bosnia and Herzegovina

2020-Annual Meeting Canceled Due to COVID-19


  • May May Choo, FRCS- Malaysia
  • Thi Que Anh Vu- Vietnam


  • Anuradha NN Ganesh- Oman
  • Alketa Ajazi Tandili-Albania
  • Mohammad Mostafa Hossain-Bangladesh


  • Maria Laura Curutchet, MD-Argentina
  • Mark Roland Jacoby, MD-South Africa
  • Chinyelu Nkemdilim Ezisi, MD- Nigeria
  • Satenik Gagikovna Agagulyan, MD-Russia


  • Israr Ahmed Bhutto, MD-Pakistan
  • Jitendra Nenumal Jethanim, MD- India
  • Ibrahim Ondeko Ndale Matende, MD- Kenya
  • Teresita de Jesús Méndez Sánchez, MD-Cuba
  • Rosa María Naranjo Fernández, MD- Cuba


  • Muhammad Nazmul Haque Kallol, MD-Bangladesh
  • Srijana Adhikari, MD -Nepal
  • Kateryna Alimivna Fedchuk, MD -Ukraine
  • Ngoc Quang, DO-Vietnam
  • Olubunmi Temitope Bodunde, MD-Nigeria


  • Dr. Adedayo Omobolanle Adio, Nigeria


  • Dupe Ademola-Popoola, MBBS –Nigeria
  • Dechen Wangmo, MD- Bhutan


  • Ahmed Mohamed Fahmi, MD-Sudan